I Need My Monster

I Need my monster9780979974625_p0_v1_s260x420I Need My Monster

Amanda Noll, Author

Howard McWilliam, Illustrator

Flash Light Press, Fiction, April 2009

Suitable for Ages: 5-8

Themes: Monsters, Night frights, Imagination, Friendship, Humor

Opening“Tonight, when I looked under the bed for my monster, I found this note instead.  Gone fishing.  Back in a week – Gabe.  What was I going to do?  I needed a monster under by bed.  How was I supposed to get to sleep if my monster was gone?”  How will Ethan ever get to sleep without Gabe’s familiar noises, ragged breathing and his spooky green ooze?  Ethan decides that he’s just going to have to find a replacement monster.  He climbs out of bed and taps on the floor and hops back under the covers waiting in fear.  Monsters begin to appear, but Herbert doesn’t have claws…Ralph wears nail polish on his claws…Cynthia is a girl…and Mack has a long, sloppy tongue.  Ethan fires them all.  How is Ethan ever going to get to sleep without his monster Gabe?

Why I like this book:    Amanda Noll has written a humorous and original book for children about a boy missing the monster lurking beneath his bed at night.  I love the power of Ethan’s imagination!  What a great way to help kids turn their fears into laughter.  This book is an entertaining read for both children and adults — one that will elicit growls and slurps as each character is acted out.  It will certainly become a bedtime favorite begging to be read repeatedly.  Howard McWilliam’s illustrations are bold and eye-popping.  The illustrations are drawn by pencil on paper, and is painted with digital acrylic paint.  The book is very large and adds to the appeal for kids.  You may visit Amanda Noll on her website.  I Need My Monster has won countless awards.

As of Dec. 9, 2012, I Need My Monster has become available as an interactive  Children’s Book App.

About Patricia Tiltonhttps://childrensbooksheal.wordpress.comI want "Children's Books Heal" to be a resource for parents, grandparents, teachers and school counselors. My goal is to share books on a wide range of topics that have a healing impact on children who are facing challenges in their lives. If you are looking for good books on grief, autism, visual and hearing impairments, special needs, diversity, bullying, military families and social justice issues, you've come to the right place. I also share books that encourage art, imagination and creativity. I am always searching for those special gems to share with you. If you have a suggestion, please let me know.

26 thoughts on “I Need My Monster

  1. How sweet. of course, we need our monster. And what a great way of encouraging children to acknowledge Shadow traits that are in us all! We all have monsters in us and befriending them is an essential aspect of growth. Hope I am not being too Jungian here!

    Like

  2. I’m going to have to get the app! One of the interesting things for booksellers like us to figure out is how to bring apps like that into our shops, promote them, and make a buck selling them (or maybe we sell the book and give the app away as a bonus).

    Like

    • Well, you could download apps of your favorite books and have them available for customers to view. Michael Garland has a fun app he created with his book Icarus Swinebuckle, based on Greek myth. And, Julie Hedlund, (in our group) has designed a program for developing apps and will be publishing her first app soon called “A Troop is a Group of Monkeys.” You can check out her website at http://www.juliehedlund.com.

      Like

    • Susanna,
      I bought it for my great-granddaghter for Christmas after seeing it reviewed for our PPBF. And, decided I wasn’t going to let it go without reviewing it too. I love the new app!

      Like

Leave a comment